Strong leadership skills among nurses are crucial for the future of healthcare and the nursing profession. MONA is dedicated to fostering professional and successful leadership among new nurses. To honor this commitment, we have instituted an annual award program called the Future Nurse Leader Award. This award, sponsored by MONA, acknowledges recent graduates who demonstrated exceptional leadership qualities during their time as nursing students.

Nomination Information

The Future Nurse Leader should be a graduating senior from an undergraduate nursing program who:

  • Is nominated by a full-time faculty/staff member of the school who is a current MONA member.
  • Each undergraduate nursing program can nominate one student per graduating class .
  • Creates a positive learning/working environment
  • Embodies the ethics and values of nursing
  • Demonstrates leadership:
    • Motivates and supports other students as leaders
    • Participates in community/school activities and gives back to others
    • Mentors fellow students
    • Promotes activity in nursing and student organizations
  • Creates opportunities for engagement and involvement
  • Schools will receive an email with the Future Nurse Leader nomination application, criteria, and deadlines.
  • The application, criteria, and deadlines will also be available on the MONA website.
  • The nomination must be made by a full-time faculty/staff person at the school who is a current MONA member.
  • The nomination will include a statement from the nominator describing how the nominee meets the award criteria.
  • The nomination must include the student’s updated CV.
  • Nominations must be submitted before the deadline to be considered.
  • The award will be given to the student at the program graduation or award ceremony by the MONA faculty nominator or other designated MONA member.

Nominate Now!

2024 Future Nurse Leader Award Nomination Form
Nominations must be submitted by Monday, April 15, 2024.

* = required field

We're sorry. Nominations for the Future Nurse Leader Award closed on April 15, 2024.